Change of season

The grips of winter claw at my heels, with every stroke of the pedal I inch toward a possible doom.

This morning was a hint of what is to come. Near the western shore the humidity is 100% with a dew point at 38 degrees. My sleeping bag was covered with a healthy dose of condensation, as was my bicycle and panniers. I clambered out of my nylon sack, slipped into my ski pants and fitted my hands into their gloves.

As I was packing up my bedding, I decided to head back into the town. Petaluma, California waited 9 miles East of my current position, and I was not in a good mood. Trudging along I accepted the possibility of admitting defeat and heading back home to Texas. I do not want to end this adventure like this, all I need is a couple items to make this effort possible. I have not yet reached the Canadian boarder!

Regardless of my position, the human body has its limits and I must respect them. Headstrong and stubborn, I may be riding my bicycle into a grave rather than adventure. But I have not yet become the explorer I’ve so wished to become. I need to be extreme, I need to push the boundaries of endurance and sanity. How else am I to become Great? It’s easy to ride a bicycle, difficult to do so for hundreds of miles, but impossible to do so during the winter.


I still have a whole front end to load up with gear. I know I need rain pants and waterproof shoes, of which, do not take much space. My rain jacket is a Marmot, and it’s a very reliable piece of equipment. I am also confident in my abilities to survive in the bush. I’m going to need a waterproof match case, and a reliable method to start a fire. I also want to pick up an ax, one large enough to two and but small enough to mount on the bicycle. I don’t know what I am doing, but I need this challenge.

“It’s better to lose your life than to waste it.” -John Piper

One Reply to “Change of season”

  1. Wisdom is just as important as whetewithal: Canadian winter will kill you real fast. Find a job in the southwest and ride north in a few months. Last year I hit snow in the Rockies near Santa Fe into the start of May, and some of the higher passes don’t open until June. Lower elevations were fine in April.

    Like

Leave a Reply

